The SECAC Award for Outstanding Artistic Achievement

Awarded to recognize, encourage, and reward individuals who have been particularly successful in their creative work as demonstrated through regional, national or international exhibitions or presentations. The nominee's artist's statement should be included. Support materials should include a portfolio: web-based portfolios and digital submissions are acceptable.

Note: SECAC members may also apply for the SECAC Artist’s Fellowship, which carries a monetary prize. See the SECAC Awards page for information on the SECAC Artist’s Fellowship application process and deadline.

To nominate an individual for the SECAC Award for Outstanding Artistic Achievement, send a letter of nomination specifying the nominee and the intended award with the nominee’s CV to Lawrence Jenkens at [email protected] by February 6, 2018; all supporting materials are due by March 1, 2018 (upload or postmark). The nominee's SECAC membership status should be current at the time of nomination.

To nominate a group of collaborators, an organization, or an institution, the nominator should send a letter of nomination specifying the intended award nominee(s) and the intended award to Lawrence Jenkens at [email protected] by February 6, 2018; all supporting materials are due by March 1, 2018 (upload or postmark). In the case of a collaborating group or organization, at least one person must be a current SECAC member; a CV for this individual should accompany the nomination letter. In the case of an institution, the institution must be a current SECAC institutional member at the time of nomination.

Supporting materials should document sustained creative activity. Supporting materials should not exceed 10 pages; this limit excludes the nomination letter, CV, artist statement, and web-based or digital portfolio. These materials may be provided by either the nominator or the nominee, however, all materials are to be submitted together. 

Nomination letters and supporting materials may be submitted through Dropbox. Please share your nominating folder in Dropbox with Lawrence Jenkens at [email protected].

Nominators will be notified of results on or about August 15, 2018. For questions, contact [email protected].

Past Recipients

  • 2017 - Carol Prusa, Florida Atlantic University
  • 2017 - Reni Gower, Virginia Commonwealth University
    2016 - Kate Kretz, Montgomery College
    2015 - Matthew Kolodziej, University of Akron
    2013 - Virginia Derryberry, University of North Carolina Asheville
    2012 - Jane Nodine, University of South Carolina Upstate
    2009 - Michael Warrick, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
    2007 - Suzanne Jackson, Savannah College of Art and Design
    2006 - Richard Heipp, University of Florida
    2005 - Kyra Belan, Broward Community College
    2002 - Billy Lee, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
    2001 - Hanna Jubran, East Carolina University
    2000 - Anne Beidler, Agnes Scott College
    1996 - Virginia Scotchie, University of South Carolina